top of page

CONTOUR LINES

Hey, Steve! Hope you're well.

For this assignment, I had to make some contour drawings and then turn those into a design or product. The inspiration comes from Andy Warhol.

Born 1928 in Pittsburg, PA, Andy is a pop culture icon. He's known for his printmaking, painting, cinema, and photography. We focused, however, on his contour line drawings.

David Hockney // Pencil on paper // 1974

Foot With Flowers // Ink on paper // 1958

His art is truly inspiring. I especially like those flowers, considering I drew flowers as well.

I drew around 20 objects on my sketchbook with Micron pens.Afterwards, I scanned them onto my phone with an app called Tiny Scanner. I then Airdropped them onto my laptop and got to editing them.

I used Photoshop to remove their background and make it invisible. I had no idea how to do it, so my friend Luciano Gatto helped me achieve it.

After, I decided I would make a flower crown with the flower drawings. So I thought of using Rihanna as my model, because when I think of a queen, she's the first person to pop into my head. I wanted a picture where her hair was very natural and curly.

However, after adding these flowers, I thought it looked too simple. So with a little help from my friend Natalia Carlos – a Photoshop wizard – I made a full flower crown and colored the flowers in.

I really love the contrast between the obvious realism in Rihanna's picture and the cartoon-ish flowers in her hair. Overall, I'm very proud with how it came out!

EDIT 10/18/17: I decided to change up the hues and saturations on the flower crown so it would better match the website's aesthetic. Here's what came out:


  • White Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page