top of page

MUSICAL GEOMETRY

Hi Steve!

For this project, we were to pick a song and make a design based on its lyrics or musical composition.

The song I picked was Robbers by The 1975 and I ended up making a short film.

The process for this short film was a long one. One of my closest friends, Daniel Rivera, had written a poem based on Robbers and its music video. You can watch the video here. The lyrics are as follows:

She had a face straight outta magazine God only knows but you'll never leave her Her balaclava is starting to chafe And when she gets his gun he's begging, "Babe, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay." I'll give you one more time We'll give you one more fight Said one more lie Will I know you Now if you never shoot, you'll never know And if you never eat, you'll never grow You've got a pretty kind of dirty face And when she's leaving your home she's begging you, "Stay, stay, stay, stay, stay." I'll give you one more time We'll give you one more fight Said one more line Be a riot, cause I know you Well, now that you've got your gun It's much harder now the police have come Now I'll shoot him if it's what you ask But if you just take off your mask You'd find out everything's gone wrong. Now everybody's dead And they're driving past my old school He's got his gun, he's got his suit on She says, "Babe, you look so cool, you look so cool, you look so coo-o-o-oo-oo-ool. You look so cool, you look so cool, you look so coo-o-o-oo-oo-ool."

Daniel wrote a poem based on these two things. However, he wishes to keep the poem private between him and I. In short, the poem is about a man saying he doesn't need his lover, but by the end, realizes just how important they were.

Based on his poem, I wrote a short visual on what I would like the film to look like. It wasn't a script per-se, we just used it so Daniel could understand my vision better and our actors knew what they would be doing. This was a very rushed project.

After all of this, we got together at a friend's apartment, and started the shoot. Almost everything was improvised or thought-of that same day. I edited it the next day using Adobe Premier Pro, and thus, Haze was born. Overall, I'm very happy with how everything came out.

You can watch Haze here or below.


  • White Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page