top of page

MACRO / MICRO

What's up, Steve? This project you will like.

First, some definitions!

1. macro (adj) - large-scale; overall.

2. micro (adj) - extremely small

For this project, we had to make a system of 20 images representing a macro / micro relationship in nature.

I decided I would demonstrate the effects of climate change on our coral reefs, by selecting 10 pictures of living, healthy corals and 10 pictures of bleached or dead corals. Coral bleaching occurs due to the drastic change of temperature in the water. A bleached coral is still alive, but basically only has 10% of its energy left, and are bound to die.

I thought I was very environmentally aware until I watched the documentary Chasing Coral, which is what inspired me to do this project on coral reefs. In the film, you see the entire process of the coral's dying on The Great Barrier Reef. It is estimated that more than 70% of The Great Barrier Reef is either dead or bleaching. People don't seem to understand just how devastating and dangerous this is, and in any way I can, I wish to help. Hence, the following collage.

These are all free images I found on Google Images.

The Micro / Macro relationship can be seen in some pictures. However, to me, it lies in in the severity of the project. How, before, global warming wasn't a big concern to anyone because we hadn't seen any of the big side effects yet. Now, the largest living thing on Earth is almost completely dead because of it.


  • White Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page